Tampa Bay Lightning Stay Ahead Of Lockout - Assign 18 Players To AHL Syracuse

The Tampa Bay Lightning have assigned 18 players to Syracuse (AHL) as they prepare for the pending lockout. All of these players did not have to clear waivers to be sent down.

The players that were assigned are:  Forwards Brett ConnollyJT BrownCory ConacherDanick GauthierRichard PanikTyler JohnsonAlex KillornVladislav NamestnikovOndrej PalatAlex Hutchings, defensemen Mark BarberioRadko GudasDmitry KorobovCharles LandryDan Milan and goalies Dustin TokarskiRiku Helenius and Pat Nagle.

Forward JT Wyman was placed on waivers for the purpose of being sent to Syracuse.

Forwards Pierre-Cedric Labrie and Mike Angelidis along with defensemen Evan ObergKeith Aulie and Matt Taormina most certainly will be signed to AHL contracts to avoid going through waivers.

Follow me on Twitter @LightningShout and make sure to “like” The Checking Line on Facebook and on Twitter @TheCheckingLine to stay up to the minute with all the latest team news and notes.

Feel free to shoot me an email at wbphilp@aol.com