Top Prospects Set to Show Off Their Skills

Today in Toronto, it was announced which prospects would participate in which events this upcoming Tuesday for Team Cherry and Team Orr in this season's Home Hardware CHL/NHL Skills Competition leading up to the 2011 Home Hardware CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game.

The 40 selected participants, all eligible to be drafted in Minnesota this upcoming June in the NHL Entry Draft, will be divided up and featured in fastest skater, hardest shot, shooting accuracy and show-down breakaway events. They break down as follows:

Fastest Skater:

Team Cherry

Ryan Murphy, Kitchener Rangers
Mark McNeill, Prince Albert Raiders
Tobias Rieder, Kitchener Rangers
Rickard Rakell, Plymouth Whalers
Team Orr

Dougie Hamilton, Niagara IceDogs
Shane McColgan, Kelowna Rockets
Nathan Beaulieu, Saint John Sea Dogs
Daniel Catenacci, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds

Hardest Shot:

Team Cherry

Myles Bell, Regina Pats
Scott Harrington, London Knights
Duncan Siemens, Saskatoon Blades
Tyler Wotherspoon, Portland Winterhawks
Team Orr

David Musil, Vancouver Giants
Stuart Percy, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors
Vincent Trocheck, Saginaw Spirit
Reece Scarlett, Swift Current Broncos

Shooting Accuracy:

Team Cherry

Sean Couturier, Drummondville Voltigeurs
Matthew Puempel, Peterborough Petes
Shane Prince, Ottawa 67’s
Phillip Danault, Victoriaville Tigres
Team Orr

Lucas Lessio, Oshawa Generals
Zack Phillips, Saint John Sea Dogs
Boone Jenner, Oshawa Generals
Colin Jacobs, Seattle Thunderbirds

Show-Down Breakaway Contest:

Team Cherry

Ty Rattie, Portland Winterhawks
Tomas Jurco, Saint John Sea Dogs
Nicklas Jensen, Oshawa Generals
Ryan Strome, Niagara IceDogs
Mark Scheifele, Barrie Colts
Joe Morrow, Portland Winterhawks
Team Orr

Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Red Deer Rebels
Brandon Saad, Saginaw Spirit
Sven Bartschi, Portland Winterhawks
Vladislav Namestnikov, London Knights
Jonathan Huberdeau, Saint John Sea Dogs
Xavier Ouellet, Montreal Juniors

Goaltenders for Team Cherry are Christopher Gibson of the Chicoutimi Sagueneens and David Honzik of the Victoriaville Tigres. Team Orr features Jordan Binnington of the Owen Sound Attack and Liam Liston of the Brandon Wheat Kings. Captains are Sean Couturier for Team Cherry and Ryan Nugent-Hopkins for Team Orr. The skills competition will begin at 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday evening at the Air Canada Centre, whereas the game itself, broadcasted by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, is set to get underway at 7:00 p.m. the following day.


George Prax's picture

I think I like the Don's team a little better